UK's Sea Girls release new EP 'Under Exit Lights' out today, March 6




Photo by:Parri Thomas

The UK’s Sea Girls are excited to announce the upcoming release of their debut album Open Up Your Head - out August 14 on Island Records. The emotionally charged, deeply personal, hook laden debut album features fourteen doses of memorable jagged guitar-pop brilliance. The LP was produced by Larry Hibbitt in London. Open Up Your Head will be available in special colored vinyl, limited edition picture disc, CD, cassette and digital.

Today also sees the band share a brand new single from the album entitled “Do You Really Wanna Know?” which premiered as Annie Mac’s “Hottest Record” on BBC Radio 1 last night, and follows the brilliant “Ready For More.” 

With album Open Up Your Head, the band’s songwriting has elevated, with frontman Henry Camamile stepping into the spotlight as a genuine storyteller for his generation. The album is an explosion of joyous indie rock held together to reflect Camamile’s darker songwriting on topics such as a previous traumatic head injury, the anxiety that ensued, and resulting adolescent vices. In accessing those darkest and least comfortable parts of himself the record becomes one of hope. 
The bastard sons of The Killers and The Strokes, Sea Girls is CamamileRory YoungAndrew Dawson and Oli Kahn. They have created a debut body of work, including songs from lead guitarist Rory Young, that are stunningly uplifting, ferociously reflective, delicately vulnerable, and most importantly - brutally honest.

Henry admits his and Rory’s writing – and the bands performing – comes right from the heart. With storytelling being reminiscent of a young Brandon Flowers Henry explains; “I don’t buy all the love and flowers stuff. Real relationships fall apart, you get hurt and you have to deal with it so you do what you have to do to get over it. I think what has saved me is music.”

Renowned for their frenetic, sweat-drenched performances, 2019 saw Sea Girls playing their debut live shows in the U.S. to packed rooms in both New York City and Los Angeles. While stateside the band headed to Paste’s NYC studio for a session - watch that HERE.   

Off stage, their success is further driven by their energetic, uncanny ability to write adrenaline-heavy guitar anthems with songs like "Violet" and "All I Want To Hear You Say", and the release of their latest EP Under Exit Lights

"Sea Girls play the kind of anthemic rock that makes you want to put one fist in the air and the other hand around your best bud." NPR

“deceptively upbeat” Consequence Of Sound on “Ready For More”

"'Ready For More' already displays songcraft that most bands only manage on their third or fourth album, suggesting that Sea Girls are in for one hell of a career." PopMatters

“infectious jagged life songs” Northern Transmissions

"It doesn’t take long to see why the band has been causing such a stir overseas." We All Want Someone To Shout For

their latest gem is a perfect way to get hooked by their sound...With this exquisite and mesmerizing blend of melodies and visuals they deliver something unique and strangely surreal while still feeling to so down to earth...There’s something about it that feels so real, so raw and beautifully and perfectly intoxicating that you can’t help but want and need more of it. 
Wolf In A Suit on “Ready For More”

" The song’s energy is infectious not to mention how catchy the chorus is." 
Surviving the Golden Age on “Ready For More”

"...six more tracks that lift you off your feet and encourage uninhibited singalongs in any given social situation." Punktastic 

 "their live shows have a real punch... consisting of out and out bangers" - Clash
"Ridiculously catchy indie-rock ringing through your ears" - Dork
 "songs that get stuck in your head all day" - DIY
“They’re one of the few guitar bands with a fighting chance to catapult themselves up the festival line-up bills in no time. It’s going to be sweaty, chaotic and a whole lot of fun” - 100 Essential New Artists for 2019 NME

Sea Girls will kick off their rescheduled April UK dates by upgrading the venues to play their biggest headline shows to date in November 2020, it will see them play 3 upgraded venues including a career defining night at London’s legendary O2 Brixton Academy on November 6. Before that, the band will light up festival stages across the back end of summer, including prestigious spots at Reading & Leeds, TRNSMT, Spain’s Mad Cool, Berlin’s Lollapalooza, and more. For details of a very special fan presale for the upgraded shows, head to the official Sea Girls store at seagirls.net. Tickets on sale Thursday,
May 7.

Open Up Your Head - Track Listing
1. Transplant
2. All I Want To Hear You Say
3. Do You Really Wanna Know?
4. Lie To Me
5. Call Me Out
6. Closer
7. Forever
8. Weight In Gold 
9. Ready For More
10. Violet 
11. Shake
12. Damage Done
13. You Over Anyone
14. Moving On
Sea Girls tour dates

Nov 2 - Glasgow, Barrowlands
Nov 5 - Birmingham, O2 Institute SOLD OUT
Nov 6 - London, 02 Academy Brixton
Nov 7 - Manchester, Academy 1

Find Sea Girls. here: