Covet Release First Song with Vocals: "Parachute"; Technicolor Arrives June 5   


“We’ve never had vocals with lyrics before. There were some vowels hummed on Currents, but it was gratifying to add Yvette’s voice like this.” – David Adamiak

“parachute” single cover
May 6, 2020 - SAN FRANCISCO – Covet release “parachute” (https://smarturl.it/covetband), a second single from the Bay Area band’s forthcoming album, technicolor (June 5, Triple Crown Records). but unlike all Covet music to date, “parachute” features vocals; Guitar player Yvette Young’s vocals to be exact.

“This track, ‘parachute,’ is really special to me,” explains Yvette. “I remember I wrote it basically in one sitting and immediately I heard that it needed lyrics. My whole rule for writing is to never rule anything out, as long as it serves the music… so here we are, at Covet’s first departure from being instrumental. The song is about taking a risk for yourself and stepping away from something or something that once made you feel safe, only to realize that you never needed any of it in the first place. We hope you enjoy it and that it uplifts you.”

The band previously previewed the 10-song album with the release of “nero” and its hilariously quirky, video game-inspired video (https://youtu.be/8a-GGIQlBns). Fans are encouraged to take a crack at the song’s guitar solo by posting their own playthrough video to social media and tagging the band. The winner receives a 30-minute, Skype-based guitar lesson with Yvette. More details can be found on the band’s Facebook page (facebook.com/covetband).
"Nero" video
Albums pre-orders can be found now via the Triple Crown Records webstore as well as the standard digital service providers (https://smarturl.it/covetband). Two of the vinyl variants have already sold out with a purple variant remaining. A highly-limited (300 copies) transparent teal with orange splatter version has been made available via Recordstoreday.com.
technicolor album cover, painting by Yvette Young
Covet is David Adamiak (bass), Forrest Rice (drums) and Yvette Young (guitar/vocals). The band’s debut release, the 2015 EP Currents, cultivated a fluid style and faithful fanbase. The San Francisco-based band’s 2018 full-length debut, effloresce, elevated them to a new strata altogether. Powered by audience favorites such as “shibuya” [feat. San Holo] and “sea dragon” [feat. Mario Camarena], the record has cumulatively tallied over 10 million total streams to date - unprecedented for a primarily instrumental act. “The band’s music has some parallels with the classical-jazz fusion of Japanese pianist Hiromi,” said The Chicago Reader in a 2019 feature, continuing “but because front woman and guitarist Yvette Young provides its foundation with her intricate, liquid strings of notes, it has a welcome rock edge.” Gear Gods said upon the release of effloresce, “all three of these talented musicians form what is an incredibly musical, lush, and thoughtful sound,” while Brooklyn Vegan noted the band’s knack for writing “sugar sweet melodies.”

# # #