Agnes Obel, 2017 North American Tour

New Music Video for "It's Happening Again"
 Premiered Exclusively on NPR's "First Watch"
(Click here to view)
Agnes Obel * Photo Credit:  Alex Bruel Flagstad

LOS ANGELES, CA -  (WEDNESDAY, November 16, 2016) -- Having just released Citizen of Glass, praised by the UK's Q as "a thing of quiet wonder" and by America's Mother Jones as "a beautiful album likely to soothe the dark night of the soul," Agnes Obel will headline a four-week North American tour that kicks off February 28 in Montreal, Canada and wraps in Ann Arbor, MI on March 31.  Tickets for most dates go on sale this Friday, November 18; log on to www.agnesobel.com for complete ticketing info.

In addition, Obel's new music video for the new track "It's Happening Again" was premiered on NPR's "First Watch."  The animated piece, created/directed by Alex Bruel Flagstad who has directed several of Obel's videos, is a kaleidoscopic journey through dimensions of colors, patterns, twinkling lights and other celestial images, all perfect for Obel's ethereal voice and wistful harmonies.   The video can be viewed here.

Marking her concert return to North America for the first time in two years, Obel's dates are in support of Citizen of Glass (10-21-16/Play In Again Sam), her first concept album and most ambitious work to date.  The title comes from the German concept of the Gläserner  
 , the "human or glass citizen," that deals with the individual's level of privacy.  Rooted in today's overshare-heavy age of social media, Obel has woven this concept, lyrically and musically, into the album's ten tracks, as they examine the provocative topics of transparency and diminishing privacy, a world of "glass people" who bare all via social media, and the affect that has on us emotionally and creatively.  

"I wanted to write about the transparency and the difference between secrets and confession," said Obel to The Irish Times, who uses social networking platforms solely for work-related topics. "There's a strong sense these days - these decades, even - that we're all under surveillance.  Secrets can be very good to have and to keep." 

For this tour, Obel will be joined onstage by Charlotte Danhier (cello, loops, vocals, mellotron, drums, uke), Catherine de Blasio (drums, vocals, bass clarinet, percussion), and Kristina Koropecki (cello, loops, vocals, percussion).  Fans can expect a set list comprised of songs from Obel's critically-acclaimed and platinum-selling albums Philharmonics (2010) and Aventine (2013), as well as selections from Citizen of Glass.

With more dates to be announced, the Agnes Obel North American tour itinerary is as follows:

28  Montreal en Lumiere - Place Des Arts, Montreal, QC

 1  Palais Montcalm, Quebec City, QC
 3  Bronson Centre, Ottawa, ON
 4  The Great Hall, Toronto, ON
 8  The Sinclair, Boston, MA
 9  Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA
11  Le Poisson Rouge, New York, NY
13  Mercy Lounge, Nashville, TN
15  The Heights Theater, Houston, TX
22  The Independent, San Francisco, CA
24  Wonder Ballroom, Portland, OR
25  Imperial Vancouver, Vancouver, BC
29  The Cedar Cultural Center, Minneapolis, MN
30  Old Town School of Folk Music, Maurer Hall, Chicago, IL
31  The Ark, Ann Arbor, MI