10/31/2016

KEXP Broadcasts Live from Iceland Airwaves

KEXP Broadcasts Live from Iceland Airwaves Starting Wednesday



Seattle – October 31, 2016  Join KEXP as we return to the land of fire and ice, broadcasting live from KEX Hostel in Reykjavik for the Iceland Airwaves Music Festival. KEXP’s international broadcast will feature 16 exclusive performances live on air on Wednesday, November 2, through Saturday, November 5, from 6:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. PST.

Iceland Airwaves 2016Sets on Wednesday through Friday can be heard live on KEXP at 90.3 FM in Seattle and worldwide at kexp.org. All sets will be streamed with live video on KEXP’s Facebook page.

Over the past decade, KEXP has developed a deep relationship with Iceland, connecting incredible artists such as Of Monsters and Men, Júníus Meyvant, Samaris, Sóley, Ólafur Arnalds and GusGus with KEXP’s global audience of music lovers.

“We’re excited and honored to share Iceland’s rich musical treasures alongside great International and Seattle artists performing at our Iceland Airwaves broadcast,” said KEXP Chief Content Officer Kevin Cole.  “KEXP is about connecting with music lovers and artists, between diverse genres and eras of music, and between people sharing breath in our global community--regardless of generation or location. It is our desire that you’ll discover phenomenal new music while, at the same time, through this shared musical experience, feel that the world is a smaller place, and that through the power of music, we are all truly connected.”

If you are in Reykjavik during Iceland Airwaves, the following performances and broadcast at KEX Hostel are free and open to the public. Space is limited on a first come, first served basis.

Wednesday, November 2nd
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – SUÐ
08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Gangly
11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – Singapore Sling
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – The Sonics

Thursday, November 3rd
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Samaris
08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Axel Flóvent
11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – Coals
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Kronos Quartet

Friday, November 4th
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Moji and The Midnight Sons
08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Digable Planets
11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – Adia Victoria
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Kate Tempest

Saturday, November 5th [not broadcast but available as live streaming video]
06:00AM PST/ 09:00AM EST – Let’s Eat Grandma
08:30AM PST/ 11:30AM EST – Mammút
11:00AM PST/ 02:00PM EST – Andy Svarthol
01:30PM PST/ 04:30PM EST – Dream Wife

0 comments: