Track Premiere: Jason Simon (Dead Meadow) "Red Dust"




Mxdwn.com has premiered a new track from anachronistic troubadour, Jason Simon this morning. Red Dust is propelled by a tight upbeat guitar picking topped with shimmering virbrato drenched chords. The effect is something like a rockabilly single from Sun Records left out in the desert and blotted with acid.

Red Dust features Simon on guitar and vocals as well as Nate Ryan (The Warlocks) on bass, Ryan Rapsys (Heroic Doses) on drums and Jeff Davies (The Brian Jonestown Massacre) with some additional guitar.

Speaking on the track Simon related Red Dust definitely owes a nod to the late great JJ Cale in its attempt to create a trance-like atmosphere starting out as a simple bar room boogie and becoming increasingly psychedelic as the song progresses. Chinese hermits, in their high mountain-top retreats, would refer to the land below, with all its needless hustle, worries big and small as The Land of the Red Dust. It seemed an apt description of most of the cites I’ve inhabited... well at least it used to..now we’re all in self- imposed hermitages of sorts and the streets are for the most part silent.

Listen to Mxdwn.com premiere of Red Dust Here

Red Dust is taken from the forthcoming album A Venerable Wreck, which drops on May 22nd in LP/Digi formats via Chilean label, BYM Records (Föllakzoid, Chicos de Nazca, The Ganjas).

Another track from the album The Same Dream was also leaked recently (link below).

Listen to The Same Dream Here

Though Simon has explored the amplified range of psychedelia for the past two decades fronting Dead Meadow, his solo material is used for the exploration of intimate and stripped-back music that touches upon country-tinged Psych-folk and more avant-garde moments. While it's mostly Simon on the record, a circle of musicians including Nate Ryan of The Warlocks and Mark Laughlin, his band-mate in Dead Meadow were brought in to add their ingredients to a melting pot of arrangements.

Red Dust available digitally Here

Album pre-order: Here