Tei Shi - 'Crawl Space' out today on Downtown Records


Tei Shi is the moniker of Buenos Aires-born, Brooklyn-based Valerie Teicher. Following a string of vivacious and critically lauded performances on tour with MØ, Tei Shi is releasing her eagerly anticipated full length Crawl Space today. An impressive and accomplished debut, Crawl Space, has one of the most engaging and dynamic releases of the year so far.

In case you missed the "How Far" video, Dazed Digital noted that Tei Shi "channels the Coen Brothers," going on to say "The greatest gift of Tei Shi might be her natural ability to transmute personal stories into sticky pop hooks."

Purchase Crawl Space now via

Acclaim for Crawl Space:

"Tei Shi may have been a long time coming, but "Keep Running" feels like the debut of an artist properly establishing her musical identity with plenty of potential for success." V Magazine

"Swooning synth-pop and the latter's psychedelic soul" Stereogum

"Prepare your roommates for the impromptu karaoke sessions you'll be having to this song all year long." Cosmopolitan, 25 Albums to Obsess Over in 2017

"Shimmering vocals, pulsing basslines, sultry synths and a vulnerable-yet-cool-girl attitude"  

"'Crawl Space' draws the focus in on Tei Shi's compelling and sultry vocals like never before" Clash Magazine

"Tei Shi's acrobatic vocals shine once again on "How Far,"... The track - which pairs gut-wrenching lyrics like "If it pleases you to see me struggle/ I will" with dreamy guitars and buzzing production - explores the thin line between love and destruction. And it'll stick with you."  

""Keep Running," a silky slip of R&B pop, a little Jesse Ware, a little Solange. The video, directed by Agostina Gálvez, which you can watch below, features the Colombian-born singer back to brunette, in various satiny numbers, curving her body with the sensual ease with which she delivers her melodies." 

"Fluttering above light, synth-driven production, the singer's sunny vocals shine, asserting herself as both a prolific producer and acrobatic vocalist." Out Magazine, Women In Power-Pop: 50 Musicians Taking Over

"Teicher's breathy soprano vocals steal the show; Aaliyah-like, they're the strongest instrument on the album." 

Upcoming Tour Dates:

5/09 - Rough Trade - Brooklyn, NY **SOLD OUT**
5/10 - Rough Trade - Brooklyn, NY
5/11 - Great Scott - Allston, MA
5/12 - Songbyrd - Washington, DC
5/13 - Radio 104.5 10th Birthday Celebration - Camden, NJ
6/03 - Field Trip Music & Arts Festival - Toronto, ON
9/22-23 - Cayuga Sound - Ithaca, NY

Crawl Space Tracklisting:

01. Way To Record
02. Keep Running
03. Creep
04. Baby
05. How Far
06. Bad Singer
07. Say You Do
08. Bad Girl
09. Justify
10. Lift Me
11. Como Si
12. Crawl
13. Year 3K
14. Your World
15. Sleepy