Breanna Barbara Opens For Boss Hog (Jon Spencer) @ Union Pool, Oct. 27th

Breanna Barbara Opens For Boss Hog (Jon Spencer) @ Union Pool, Oct. 27th

'Mirage Dreams' LP Out Now Via No Roads
Credit: Kristin Gallegos
 "For anybody wondering how to transition moments of sadness into something positive, and even creative, meet Breanna Barbara; she and her music have come along to help lead you through the underworld that is life." - Galore

LISTEN & SHARE: Breanna Barbara - 'Mirage Dreams'

"This singer-songwriter is undeniably the product of steamy Southern summers, the kind where the air’s so sultry that there’s nothing to do but crank up the amps and drown your sorrows in a pool of sweat." Consequence of Sound

"While it arises out of tragedy it does so with a gleeful vengeance, and in the case of this track, even a howl." - Interview

"Brooklyn-based musician Breanna Barbara ain’t just another super cute indie chick. This girl has got pipes, not to mention the unabashed soulfulness of the blues musicians of days past."
On October 27th, Breanna Barbara plays at Union Pool to open for Boss Hog for a Halloween show.  The latter began as a Jon Spencer (Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, Pussy Galore) side project that originated at a last minute show at CBGB in 1989.  This is the only NYC show that the sleaze-glam band will be playing before they head to Germany.

"If you dig Alabama Shakes, there’s a good chance you’ll dig this too," says Brooklyn Vegan about Breanna Barbara, and for good reasons, her new album 'Mirage Dreams' was recorded and produced by their collaborator Andrija Tokic, who also worked with Hurray For The Riff Raff. "It’s swaggering, smoky blues rock, with fuzzed-out riffs, organs, and Breanna’s attitude-fueled voice leading the way," they also praised.

Recorded and produced by Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Hurray for the Riff Raff) at The Bomb Shelter in East Nashville over two weeks in the winter of 2014, the album features Ben Trimble of Fly Golden Eagle (backing vocals, keys); Jem Cohen of The Ettes (backing vocals); Matt Menold (lead guitar, organ), Charles Garmendia (drums), and Eduardo DuQuesne (bass) of Clear Plastic Masks; Jon Etes (upright bass, pedal steel, keys); and David Grant (drums, percussion).

Breanna, who’d self-released two albums (Theoria and Baby Where You Are) on Bandcamp, sent her “funny little iPhone recordings” to Andrija, who invited her to come down to Nashville. She packed her guitar and drove down in the van she slept in some nights: “Every morning we'd meet around 10, drink coffee, listen to the acoustic demos I sent him, and brainstorm how we wanted the song to turn out. Then we'd go into the studio and do a few takes,” recalls Breanna. “I had literally never recorded with more than my iPhone or computer, so going from that to working with someone who has platinum records on his bathroom floor was pretty surreal.”

Breanna was born in Edina, Minnesota and raised in Bradenton, Florida. She began writing and performing songs at house shows and bars in St. Augustine, FL, and traveled around the north and southeast before settling in New York City. She has shared bills with Deer Tick, Margo Price, Wild Beasts, Deap Vally, Yak, Bo Ningen, and The Mystery Lights.

Mirage Dreams is out now on No Roads

10.27 - Union Pool - Brooklyn, NY

Mirage Dreams - TRACKLISTING
01. Sailin’ Sailin’
02. Who Are You
03. The Race
04. Nothin’ But Your Lovin’
05. Baby Where You Are
06. Mirage Dreams
07. Where’s My Baby
08. I’m Alright
09. Go Back
10. Daddy Dear
11. Wood Demon