'Brian Wilson & Friends' Live In Concert CD/DVD And Blu-Ray To Be Released July 29th


Brian Wilson & Friends [cover art]


Rolling Stone Releases Exclusive Video Clip
NASHVILLE, Tenn. (July 28, 2016) – Music legend Brian Wilson and BMG, in collaboration with the groundbreaking and critically-acclaimed PBS television series “Soundstage,” have announced the release of Brian Wilson and Friends, a new live CD/DVD set andBlu-ray edition available in stores and online July 29. Filmed live at the Venetian Theatre in Las Vegas on December 12, 2014, the 19-track CD and 26-track DVD/Blu-ray editions feature many of the top hits and fan favorites spanning Wilson’s 54-year career with The Beach Boys and as a solo artist.
Brian Wilson & Friends originally aired on PBS nationwide throughout 2015. Initially offered exclusively in DVD and Blu-ray configurations as a premium gift incentive for viewers contributing donations during the network’s annual pledge drive, the new Brian Wilson & Friendsrelease marks the first time that a companion CD is being offered, along with bonus material not included during the public television airings including bonus tracks, behind-the-scenes footage, and interviews with guest artists.

The concert recording features Wilson – co-founder of the iconic band The Beach Boys – performing alongside his legendary touring band with longtime bandmate Al Jardine, former Beach Boys sidemen Blondie Chaplin and Ricky Fataar, with special guest appearances from Grammy award-winners Nate Ruess of Fun., country artist Kacey Musgraves, and acclaimed trumpet player/composer Mark Isham; Sebu Simonian of the multi-platinum, chart-topping indie pop-duo Capital Cities; and Zooey Deschanel and M. Ward of indie duo She & Him.

Brian Wilson & Friends contains many of the classic songs he is known for with “California Girls,” “Help Me Rhonda,” “Good Vibrations,” and many more making the set list. The release of Brian Wilson and Friends coincides with his Pet Sounds 50th Anniversary World Tour, a celebration and final performance of the acclaimed album in its entirety. In addition, De Capo Press recently announced they will publish his autobiography “I Am Brian Wilson: A Memoir”on October 11. Currently on the road with his band performing across the U.S., for an up-to-date tour schedule and further information please visit www.BrianWilson.com.

Brian Wilson is one of popular music’s most deeply revered figures, a legendary writer, producer, arranger and performer of some of the most cherished music in pop music history. Wilson began his career as a teenaged founding member of The Beach Boys, who signed with Capitol Records in July 1962 and released their first album, Surfin’ Safari, that same year. The band’s initial surf-rock focus was soon broadened to include other themes. Wilson’s innovative vocal and instrumental arrangements for major hits including “I Get Around,” “California Girls,” “Wouldn’t It Be Nice,” “God Only Knows,” and the No. 1 smash “Good Vibrations” made The Beach Boys America’s preeminent band of the 1960s.

Wilson has also achieved great solo success with 11 of his own albums released to date, including his acclaimed 2004 completion of an album he first began recording in the ‘60s, Brian Wilson Presents… SMiLE. The album earned Wilson his first GRAMMY® for a recording, which was followed by his second GRAMMY® win for producing The Beach Boys’ acclaimed 2011 release, The SMiLE Sessions. With his own band, Wilson has performed major, sold-out tours in recent years, and with The Beach Boys, he celebrated the iconic band’s 50th anniversary in 2012 with a major international tour and acclaimed studio album, That’s Why God Made The Radio.

In 2015, Wilson released his latest solo album No Pier Pressure(Capitol) and was the subject of the critically acclaimed, award-winning biopic Love & Mercy (Roadside Attractions/Lionsgate). Set against the era-defining catalog of the music, the film intimately examines the personal voyage and ultimate salvation of the icon whose success came at extraordinary personal cost. The culmination of these projects produced Wilson’s first Golden Globe nomination for Best Original Song (Motion Picture) for his song “One Kind Of Love” featured in the film.

Brian Wilson is a Kennedy Center Honors recipient, a Songwriters Hall of Fame inductee, and a U.K. Music Hall of Fame inductee. As a member of The Beach Boys, Wilson was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1988 and honored with The Recording Academy’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2001.

Brian Wilson and Friends DVD & Blu-ray track listing:

1. Our Prayer
2. Heroes and Villains
3. Sloop John B
4. Dance, Dance, Dance
5. Good Vibrations
6. This Beautiful Day
7. Runaway Dancer (feat. Sebu Simonian of Capital Cities)
8. Don’t Worry Baby (feat. Sebu Simonian of Capital Cities)
9. Marcella
10. Wild Honey (feat. Blondie Chaplin and Ricky Fataar)
11. Sail On Sailor (feat. Blondie Chaplin and Ricky Fataar)
12. Sail Away (feat. Blondie Chaplin and Ricky Fataar)
13. Half Moon Bay (feat. Mark Isham)
14. Don’t Talk (feat. Mark Isham)
15. Saturday Night (feat. Nate Ruess of Fun.)
16. Hold On Dear Brother (feat. Blondie Chaplin, Ricky Fataar, and Nate Ruess of Fun.)
17. Darlin’ (feat. Nate Ruess of Fun.)
18. On The Island (feat. Zooey Deschanel)
19. God Only Knows
20. The Right Time (feat. Al Jardine)
21. Wouldn’t It Be Nice (feat. Al Jardine)
22. Help Me Rhonda (feat. Al Jardine)
23. All Summer Long
24. Fun, Fun, Fun

Bonus tracks:
Pacific Coast Highway
Summer’s Gone