Throbbing Gristle Announce Reformation Years Reissues; "A Souvenir Of Camber Sands," "Part Two: The Endless Not" And "TG Now" Out December 13




Credit: Paul Heartfield (hi-res)
The Endless Not features some of the subtlest songwriting of TG's career, playing that knot of tension for all its worth and all the more disturbing for how pensive and restrained it feels” -– Pitchfork

Throbbing Gristle announce the next phase of their reissues series with the release of Part Two: The Endless NotTG Now and A Souvenir of Camber Sands, out on CD and limited edition vinyl December 13. Listen to “Fed Up (Live At Camber Sands)" here.

Pre-order the reformation years reissues here.

In 2004, Chris Carter, Peter Christopherson, Genesis P-Orridge and Cosey Fanni Tutti reformed – 23 years after their mission was originally terminated. Between 2004 and 2007, the band released 14 new studio tracks and a live album of their appearance at ATP's Nightmare Before Christmas in Camber Sands, England.

TG Now, originally released in 2004, was the sound of Throbbing Gristle testing the waters, seeing how it felt to work together again. The 4-track limited vinyl and CD release was available originally to attendees of the RE-TG Astoria event in 2004, their first performance together since 1981’s US tour.

With Part Two: The Endless Not, the band returned to the studio after deciding they had unfinished creative business outside of the live arena. Released in 2007, over 25 years after their last studio album, the album was, as Tiny Mix Tapes put it, “…more of a rebirthing than a reunion. Several live documents followed the album’s release, but the untimely death of Peter Christopherson in November 2010 meant that this would become the final Throbbing Gristle album. 15 years since the reformation, all the albums included in this phase of the remastered reissues, Part Two: The Endless NotTG Now and A Souvenir of Camber Sands, stand proudly within the influential catalog and legacy of TG.

Part Two: The Endless Not and TG Now will be packaged together as a limited edition triple clear vinyl and poster box set. It will also available on double CD and digital platforms.

A Souvenir of Camber Sands is a live document of Throbbing Gristle’s ATP Nightmare Before Christmas performance at Camber Sands in December 2004, recorded by Live Here Now and originally available immediately at the show. Throbbing Gristle are renowned for their documentation of live performances. TG24 (which was reissued in 2002) and TG+ (released in 2004) collated their live recordings up until the band disbanded. This release reactivated the band’s live performance releases that include Thirty Second Annual Report (from La Villette, Paris) and the Desertshore Installation (from the ICA, London). A Souvenir of Camber Sands will be available for the first time on vinyl as a limited edition clear vinyl release with poster. It will also be available on double CD and digital platforms.

Throbbing Gristle are Chris Carter, Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson (who sadly passed away on November 25, 2010), Cosey Fanni Tutti and Genesis Breyer P-Orridge. Their impact on music, culture and the arts is immeasurable and still felt today.


A Souvenir of Camber Sands Tracklisting
1. P-A-D
2. What A Day
3. Greasy Spoon
4. Live Ray
5. Hamburger Lady
6. Almost Like This (A Kiss)
7. Splitting Sky
8. Convincing People
9. Fed Up
10. Wall of Sound

Part Two: The Endless Not / TG Now Tracklisting
1. Vow Of Silence
2. Rabbit Snare
3. Separated
4. Almost A Kiss
5. Greasy Spoon
6. Lyre Liar
7. Above The Below
8. Endless Not
9. The Worm Waits Its Turn
10. After The Fall
11. X-Ray
12. Splitting Sky
13. Almost Like This
14. How Do You Deal