KIM GORDON Solo Debut 'No Home Record' Out Today on Matador Records!


Today, multi-disciplinary artist Kim Gordon releases her highly anticipated solo debut, No Home Record, on Matador RecordsNo Home Record has already being heralded as “provocative, challenging and effortlessly cool" and “a superb genre-spanning solo debut.” The album is available now via Matador Records here.  Additionally, those who purchase the CD or LP at Amoeba Hollywood (6400 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028) today can celebrate with Gordon in-person with an exclusive in-store signing event starting at 7pm, all information here.

To celebrate the record release, Gordon released a clip for “Hungry Baby,” which is the latest in a short video series the legendary musician and Berlin-based artist and filmmaker Loretta Fahrenholz created to accompany the album. The collection includes an official video for Sketch Artist,” (featuring a cameo from Broad City’s Abbi Jacobson) as well as shorts for “Paprika Pony” and Don’t Play It with more to be released. Gordon also created her own “video” for lead single “Air BnB” which you can see here.

No Home Record was produced largely by Justin Raisen (Charli XCX, Ariel Pink, Sky Ferreira) at Sphere Ranch in Los Angeles, along with contributions from Shawn Everett (Jim James, The Voidz, The War on Drugs) and composer/filmmaker Jake Meginsky (L’appel Du Vide, Full Mantis). Gordon’s solo debut album’s title is a nod to the French-Belgian director Chantal Akerman’s film No Home Movie.
(Credit: Natalia Mantini - download high res here)

Praise for No Home Record:

"The songs are immediate, loose, and liberated...as ferocious as she’s ever been."

“An inimitable and malleable artist who, nonetheless, sounds only like Kim Gordon.” - NPR

“A swirling aural collage with splashes of vintage Sonic Youth noise rock, offset by jagged, impressionistic lyrics.” - The New York Times

“A heavily electronic soundscape that mostly leaves behind the squalling guitars of her longtime band Sonic Youth and finds new ways to sound experimental,” - Vanity Fair

"The rock icon is back…[No Home Record] melds dirge-y electronica and distorted guitars with her observational poetry.” - Entertainment Weekly

"Against a radical blend of the chaotic noise rock she helmed with Sonic Youth and genre-bending experimentalism, Gordon’s lyrics cooly run a razor blade along the edges of LA to examine what’s below the city’s artifice." - GARAGE

“Gordon is still finding new ways to express (and stretch) herself." - AV Club

“She still has some new sounds in store for longtime fans.” - Billboard

“Everything you thought you knew about Kim Gordon gets wiped out.” - The Stranger

"It’s jagged, chaotic and mesmerizing in a way that pulls you inevitably into the thick of it, as if the songs were exerting their own inescapable gravity." - Paste Magazine

“One of her most accessible-sounding to date; weird raw pop” - FLOOD

“...Raw yet refined, honest yet delusional. It's everything we've come to know and love about Kim Gordon.” - BUST Magazine

Since co-founding Sonic Youth in the early 80’s, Kim Gordon has remained at the nexus of music, fashion, art and (more recently) books and film.  In the past few years alone, Gordon has debuted in the #1 spot on the NY Times Bestseller List with her 2015 memoir Girl In A Band, acted alongside Joaquin Phoenix and Jonah Hill under the direction of Gus Van Sant (in 2018’s “Don’t Worry, He Won’t Get Far On Foot”), released music and performed as one half of Body/Head alongside Bill Nace, and opened multiple solo-exhibitions at internationally renowned museums. 

Read the full album bio by artist Elaine Kahn HERE.

No Home Record - Tracklisting:
1 Sketch Artist 
2 Air BnB
3 Paprika Pony 
4 Murdered Out 
5 Don’t Play It
6 Cookie Butter
7 Hungry Baby
8 Earthquake
9 Get Yr Life Back