Cate Le Bon announces new record Reward, out May 24 + releases single 'Daylight Matters' 🔺


It was on a mountainside in Cumbria that the first whispers of Cate Le Bon’s fifth studio album poked their buds above the earth. “There’s a strange romanticism to going a little bit crazy and playing the piano to yourself and singing into the night,” she says, recounting the year living solitarily in the Lake District which gave way to Reward. By day, ever the polymath, Le Bon painstakingly learnt to make solid wood tables, stools and chairs from scratch; by night she looked to a second-hand Meers — the first piano she had ever owned — for company, “windows closed to absolutely everyone”, and accidentally poured her heart out. The result is an album every bit as stylistically varied, surrealistically-inclined and tactile as those in the enduring outsider’s back catalogue, but one that is also intensely introspective and profound; her most personal to date.
Over this extended period a cast of trusted and loved musicians joined Le Bon, Khouja and fellow co-producer Josiah Steinbrick —Stella Mozgawa (of Warpaint) on drums and percussion; Stephen Black (aka Sweet Baboo) on bass and saxophone and longtime collaborators Huw Evans (aka H.Hawkline) and Josh Klinghoffer on guitars — and were added to the album, “one by one, one on one”. 
Be it on her more minimalist, acoustic-leaning 2009 debut album Me Oh My or critically acclaimed, liquid-riffed 2013 LP Mug Museum as well as 2016s Crab Day, Cate LeBon’s solo work — and indeed also her production work, such as that carried out on recent Deerhunter album Why Hasnt Everything Already Disappeared?  (4AD, January 2019) — has always resisted pigeonholing, walking the tightrope between krautrock aloofness and heartbreaking tenderness; deadpan served with a twinkle in the eye, a flick of the fringe and a lick of the Telecaster.

Cate Le Bon’s Reward will be released on May 24th 2019 via Mexican Summer.
Cate Le Bon - 'Daylight Matters'
Reward is out on May 24 on LP, CD and digital formats.

Deluxe edition 
red vinyl with a limited signed print and MP3 download card is available via the Mexican Summer webstore, while supplies last.


1. Miami
2. Daylight Matters
3. Home To You
4. Mother's Mother's Magazines
5. Here It Comes Again
6. Sad Nudes
7. The Light
8. Magnificent Gestures
9. You Don't Love Me
10. Meet The Man
Pre-Order Reward
22-June-2019  - Sled Island Festival, Calgary
25-June-2019  - BSP Kingston, Kingston NY
26-June-2019 - Elsewhere, Brooklyn NY
27-June-2019 - Black Cat, Washington DC
28-June-2019 - Boot & Saddle, Philidelphia PA
29-June-2019  - Solid Sound Festival, North Adams MA
30-June-2019 - ONCE Lounge, Somerville MA
05-July-2019 - Pappy & Harriet’s, Pioneertown CA
06-July-2019 - The Getty Center, Los Angeles CA
07-July-2019 - Moe’s Alley, Santa Cruz CA
09-July-2019 - The Capel, San Francisco CA
12-July-2019 - Doug Fir Lounge, Seattle WA
18-July-2019 - First Avenue, Minneapolis MN (w/ Parquet Courts)
20-July-2019 - Pitchfork Festival, Chicago IL

Tickets on sale Friday 22 March 2019