NUEX Announce Debut EP 'Affectus' Out 5/25 + Share New Single “Eyes” w/ BlackBook

NUEX Announce Debut EP Affectus Out May 25
Share New Single “Eyes” w/ BlackBook 
"recalls New Order at their most somber - but with a cool Teutonic sheen that reminds of the likes of Ladytron or Cold Cave."  BlackBook

Revered for their dark, experimental sound, DC-based electronic-pop duo NUEXannounce their debut EP Affectus, set for release on May 25th. Comprised of singer-songwriter Camille Michelle Gray and drummer-producer Teddy AitkinsAffectus is a five-track collection that fuses haunting synths with kick-clap, hip-hop influenced rhythms.

Today, NUEX share new single Eyes” with BlackBook. “I wrote this song about an all-knowing consciousness, like God,” Camille comments. “I had a particular person in mind. This song plays around with my own dark God complex as well as touches base with the all-knowing powers that be that watch and protect us all.”

Formed in 2014, NUEX began recording demos in the basement of Camille’s house just days after they met. Honing in on a unique chemistry that would eventually define their sound, NUEX released their debut singles “Lights Off” and “I Make Bones” in 2016 which garnered acclaim from the likes of AfropunkSaint HeronGalore, and earned them mentions in The Washington PostBillboard, and more. The name NUEX, derived from the contextual French word nue, meaning of the heavens, sky, clouds, was chosen as a testament to their devotion to create a big, otherworldly sound.

NUEX first brought their sound to Liv Nightclub in 2014 in D.C., in what would become their first of dozen shows along the eastern seaboard. NUEX have checked off spots in Philadelphia, Baltimore, New York City, and have grown to become indie favorites in their hometown of D.C., performing at the Smithsonian and Natural Portrait Gallery. They recently won the chance to perform and represent Washington D.C. in Austin, Texas at SXSW out of an applicant pool of thousands. As they prepare for the release of their debut Affectus EP on May 25th, stay tuned for more!

Affectus EP Tracklisting
1. Lights Off
2. I Make Bones
3. Billie
4. The Fall
5. Eyes

For more information on NUEX, please contact:

Photo Credit: Brandon Shields