Waters Release First Single

Waters Announce New Album Details; Something More! To Be Released on Vagrant/BMG on May 19;
First Single "Hiccups" Out Today 
Photo Credit: Cara Robbins
Waters have announced details for their new album. The Californian 5-piece will releaseSomething More! on Vagrant/BMG on May 5th, 2017. First single, “Hiccups”, an energetic guitar driven power-pop ode to figuring things out, is out today.

Something More! is the band’s first release since 2015’s acclaimed What’s Real. Written and recorded over the past year in LA, following big-time touring runs with the likes of Weezer, Tegan and Sara, and Matt and Kim, the album came together after the five-piece band returned home and were forced to confront the day-to-day realities of everyday life.

Frontman Van Pierszalowski sees Something More! as both a gut-punch and a wake-up call to his younger self. “I wanted to make a record that was communicating with my teenager self, as if to say "It's always gonna be the same shit just in slightly different contexts.”...I wanted to make a mixtape, scribble notes all over the paper sleeve, get into the DeLorean, find high-school Van, and say "LISTEN TO THIS."” With that concept in mind, the band wrapped the record in some influences that the awkward teenage version of Van could listen to. 

And while lead single “Hiccups,”  produced by Tim Pagnotta (Walk The Moon), sounds euphoric on first listen - all chant-along vocals, adolescent angst and rowdy riffs -   it finds Pierszalowski bellowing “I ain’t got no regrets…all my fuck-ups, all my hiccups, only brought me to you.” “I wanted to express that the fuck-ups and the mistakes are a necessary part of the struggle to figure shit out. Don't beat yourself up about it so damn much,” he says of thePinkerton-inspired cut. 

To that end, the bulk of the songs that comprise Something More! speak to feelings of restlessness and being alone, as well as having uber-intense issues with lovers, friends and family. But, as Pierszalowski says in explaining how in spite of this the album contains some of the most raucous, hook-driven songs of the band’s career, “These songs are pop songs. They sound fun on the surface. But they are dark songs in disguise.” 


1. Hiccups
2. Hypocritical
3. Molly Is A Babe
4. You Don't Know What You Want
5. Something More
6. Modern Dilemma
7. Second Guessing
8. Secret Weapon
9. What's The Point
10. Stand By You

Waters are: Van Pierszalowski (vocals, guitar), Brian DaMert (guitar), Greg Sellin(bass), Andrew Wales (drums) and Sara DaMert (Keyboard).