Johnny Flynn Announces New Album

Acclaimed English singer/songwriter Johnny Flynn has shared news of his long awaited fourth album, Sillion, alongside first single ‘“Raising the Dead”. Sillion will be released24th March through Transgressive Records

A leading luminary of the London music scene, Flynn’s immense songwriting talent and multi-faceted career has brought him widespread acclaim. The follow up to 2013’s Country Mile, Sillion has grown episodically between Flynn’s commitments to his young family, composing and acting (most recently in Netflix’s “Love Sick”, “Song One” alongside Anne Hathaway, as well as the forthcoming NatGeo scripted series “Genius” directed by Ron Howard). It’s an album about the sacredness of man’s endeavor to connect with the earth while separated from it. It’s the sound of Flynn breathing in and breathing out. 

The titles of Flynn’s records have become a talismanic focus for him over the years, andSillion rings out like a bell, converging unlikely forces — friendship, politics, poetry – to capture the album’s colour and mood as a measure of its times.  

Sillion sees Flynn reunited with David Beauchamp (drums), Adam Beach (bass), Joe Zeitlin (cello), sister Lillie Flynn & Holly Holden (vocals), with guests Cosmo Sheldrake(electronics) and Dave Tattersall on lead guitar for The Landlord.”

First single “Raising The Dead”, tells of Flynn getting to know his newborn daughter. “My Dad died when I was 18, and that was quite a galvanising experience,” Flynn says, “and there’s often an element of that in anything I’m writing; every big loss that you suffer in life, I think everything comes through the conduit of that. I had a really strong sense of my daughter having elements of my Dad when she came along, and it made me kind of laugh - that cyclical sense, of thinking of my daughter as my Dad.”

Tracklist: for Sillion:
1. Raising the Dead
2. Wandering Aengus
3. Heart Sunk Hank
4. Barleycorn
5. The Night my Piano Upped and Died
6. In the Deepest
7. In Your Pockets
8. Jefferson’s Torch
9. Tarp in the Prop
10. The Landlord
11. Hard Road

A March headline UK tour has also been announced, plus appearances at the SXSW Convention in Austin, Texas. The dates are as follows:

Johnny Flynn Live Dates: 
March 14 - March 18: SXSW - Austin, Texas (details to follow)
March 24: Brighton St George’s Church
March 25: Leeds Church
March 26: Manchester Gorilla
March 27: Edinburgh Caves
March 28: Birmingham O2 Academy 2
March 29: Bristol Trinity
March 31: London St John’s Hackney