Brodka Shares New Music Videos On RBMA || 'Clashes' LP Out Now On Play It Again Sam

Playing SXSW 2017
Clashes LP Out Now On Play It Again Sam
Photo Credit: Zuza Krajewska for Harper’s Bazaar

“Orchestral chamber pop with a distinctly dark, cosmic edge.” – FADER
Otherworldy folk,” – Cool Hunting
“A beguiling, witchy Cowboy ballad with galloping drums, '70s pop hallmarks, and a sense of feral danger.” – Line Of Best Fit
Artful, intelligent and wildly ambitious,” – CLASH

Following the recent release of her standout debut English LP Clashes (through Play It Again Sam) and the sharing of the striking video for “Up In The Hill”, Polish pop singer Brodka is pleased to share four stunning new videos for tracks “My Name Is Youth”, “Haiti”, “Holy Holes” and “Funeral”. The videos were made in collaboration with a roster of different directors and in conjunction with Red Bull Music Academy’s “20 Before 17” initiative. They can be viewed here.  Brodka was also recently announced as being part of the official 2017 SXSW Music Festival Lineup.

Directed by: Aneta Grzeszykowska and Jan Smaga
Directed by: Bownik
Directed by: Janek Simon
Directed by: Kevin Bray

Having already released three acclaimed albums in her native Poland, including 2010’s double-platinum Granda, Clashes marks her first release in English, and-furthermore-her most diverse and ambitious album to date. Clashes dazzles with Brodka’s singular blend of orchestral pop and cosmic poetry that’s undercut with hint of brooding darkness. Even in a language that’s not her first, she asserts her informed approach to songwriting in a way that’s emotionally engaging. Dramatic without being overwrought, Clashes is a widescreen and determined listen from an artist in constant forward motion.
“I am a car-crash girl…”, resounds the opening line of lead single “Horses”, referencing Kim Gordon’s description of Courtney Love in her autobiography and hinting at Brodka’s musical and artistic interests. Despite the rich textures present on the record, she is as equally influenced by New York no wave, jazz and R&B. Additionally, her early experiences of church services have heavily impacted the depth and melodrama that charges throughout Clashes. 

This interest in religion and spirituality has also influenced the visual themes running throughout her artwork, photography and ornate sense of style. “For this album the big inspiration was liturgical outfits,” she explains. “I wanted to take the colors - silver, gold, white, purple, blue – and the shapes of some of these clothes and turn them into something more modern. I am always trying to take some of the meanings of the subjects that I am interested in, chew them up, digest them, and throw up something that is more my kind of thing.”

Operatic and intelligent, palpable and profound, Clashes isn’t just a step forward for Brodka, it’s a bound, and promises only the expansion of a global audience for such a truly remarkable artist.

Brodka Clashes Tracklisting:
1. Mirror Mirror
2. Horses
3. Santa Muerte
4. Can’t Wait For War
5. Holy Holes
6. Haiti
7. Funeral
8. Up In The Hill
9. My Name Is Youth
10. Kyrie
11. Hamlet
12.  Dreamstreamextreme

Purchase Clashes On iTunes