Placebo Celebrate Career With Retrospective Release "A Place For Us To Dream - 20 Years of Placebo"

PLACEBO Celebrates 20 Years With Retrospective Limited Edition Release – A Place For Us To Dream– on October 7th via Rise Records


Also out October 7th – Life’s What You Make It EP Featuring New Single “Jesus’ Son”


New York, NY – August 4th, 2016 – Rise Records is extremely excited to add Placebo to their roster and kick things off with a limited edition 20-year retrospective release A Place For Us To Dream.  Due out October 7th, the deluxe vinyl (in pink and black), double CD and digital release includes hits that span the groundbreaking act’s incredibly successful two decades such as early favorites “Bruise Pristine,” “Come Home,” and “Teenage Angst’, to career defining singles “Nancy Boy,” “Every You Every Me,” “Pure Morning,” and “The Bitter End” as well as their incredible cover of Kate Bush’s “Running Up That Hill” and “Meds” – a duet with The Kills’ Alison Mosshart.  The physical formats of A Place For Us To Dream include a special book that contains never-before-seen photos from the past 20 years, all hand selected by Brian Molko and Stefan Olsdal from their personal archives.

In addition, the album includes the stunning new single “Jesus’ Son,” which drops on September 1st and will also be featured on the Life’s What You Make It EP.  Placebo decided to release this six song EP to coincide with the 20 year retrospective.  The EP consists of six previous unreleased recordings including the new single and a cover of the Talk Talk classic “Life’s What You Make It.”  All the tracks were produced by Adam Noble (Red Hot Chilli PeppersPaul McCartneyBasement Jaxx), who was at the helm for the band’s acclaimed seventh studio album Loud Like Love.  Life’s What You Make It will be available on 12” vinyl (Springtime Green or Black) as well as digitally.

It all began in 1996 for Placebo when they released their critically acclaimed self-titled debut album, which helped pave the way for a strong shift in British music, acting as an antithesis to Britpop and inspiring a generation of bands to follow them.  Since then the UK act has gone on to sell more than 12 million records worldwide, has been certified gold and platinum in more than 30 countries and had 6 top ten albums in the UK.  In addition, they’ve toured and headlined festivals in more than 70 countries and six continents cementing their reputation for incendiary live shows.

Placebo remain one of the world’s biggest alternative rock bands of the last 20 years and it seems only fitting for them to celebrate the past two decades with a retrospective release that includes their hits, as well as their collaborations with such iconic artists as David Bowie and Michael Stipe.  Look for A Place For Us To Dream on October 7th as well as the Life’s What You Make It EP and be sure to grab new single “Jesus’ Son” on September 2nd!  Complete track-listings and configurations below.

Watch "Every You Every Me" 
Watch "Meds"
Vinyl 1
 A1. Pure Morning (Radio Edit)
A2. Jesus’ Son (Radio Edit)
A3. Come Home
A4. Every You Every Me (Single Version)

B1. Too Many Friends
B2. Nancy Boy (Radio Edit)
B3. 36 Degrees (Version 2016)
B4. Taste In Men (Radio Edit)
B5. The Bitter End

Vinyl 2
 A1. Without You I'm Nothing (feat. David Bowie)
A2. English Summer Rain (Single Verison)
A3. Breathe Underwater (Slow)
A4. Soulmates

B1. Meds (feat. Alison Mosshart)
B2. Bright Lights (Single Version)
B3. Song To Say Goodbye (Radio Edit)
B4. Infra-Red
B5. Running Up That Hill
Vinyl 3
 A1. B3 (Radio Edit)
A2. For What It’s Worth
A3. Teenage Angst
A4. You Don’t Care About Us (Radio Edit)
A5. Ashtray Heart

B1. Broken Promise (feat. Michael Stipe)
B2. Slave To The Wage (Radio Edit)
B3. Bruise Pristine (Radio Edit)
B4. This Picture
B5. Protégé Moi

Vinyl 4
A1. Because I Want You (Redux Version)
A2. Black-Eyed
A3. Lazarus
A4. I Know (Version 2008)

B1. A Million Little Pieces (Radio Edit)
B2. Special Needs (Radio Edit)
B3. Special K
B4. Loud Like Love

CD 1      
01. Pure Morning (Radio Edit)
02. Jesus’ Son (Radio Edit)
03. Come Home
04. Every You Every Me (Single version)
05. Too Many Friends
06. Nancy Boy (Radio Edit)
07. 36 Degrees (Version 2016)
08. Taste In Men (Radio Edit)
09. The Bitter End
10. Without You I'm Nothing (feat. David Bowie)
11. English Summer Rain (Single Version)
12. Breathe Underwater (Slow)
13. Soulmates
14. Meds (feat Alison Mosshart)
15. Bright Lights (Single Version)
16. Song To Say Goodbye (Radio Edit)
17. Infra-Red
18. Running Up That Hill

01. B3 (Radio Edit)
02. For What It’s Worth
03. Teenage Angst
04. You Don’t Care About Us (Radio Edit)
05. Ashtray Heart
06. Broken Promise (feat. Michael Stipe)
07. Slave To The Wage (Radio Edit)
08. Bruise Pristine (Radio Edit)
09. This Picture
10. Protégé Moi
11. Because I Want You (Redux)
12. Black-Eyed
13. Lazarus
14. I Know (Version 2008)
15. A Million Little Pieces (Radio Edit)
16. Special Needs (Radio Edit)
17. Special K
18. Loud Like Love