Ariana Delawari Releases Entelechy

Ariana Delawari Releases Entelechy
Short Film via Flaunt Magazine

Double Album Entelechy I & II Out August 12

First Single “Here Is My Love
Available for Stream + Download

Musician, filmmaker, and activist Ariana Delawari has released her short film Entelechy via Flaunt Magazine. Scored with the first volume of her upcoming double album, Entelechy I & II out August 12, the film serves as the visual manifestation of the album’s creative direction. The fictional short was written and directed by Delawari, produced by artist-curator Nicole Disson (Sleepover LA, THE SERIES), and follows Delawari thorugh a guided, shamanic dream-state. It’s a mystical musical that introduces the album’s themes of spirituality and self-discovery presented as a film about the state of the world, the destruction of the earth, and a dream of a brighter unified future.

Delawari began recording Entelechy I in 2014, “but then I started seeing visuals and was like ‘Oh wow, this is a film. I had been traveling to all these countries and wanted to communicate the message of what I had seen.” She began filming in early 2015. Once Entelechy I was finished, Delawari followed with the second volume of her album and the premiere of the short at the Cleveland International Film Festival in April 2016. The film is an experimental, docu-musical about global warming and changing the dream. A woman is guided by a dream therapist onto a shamanic journey through the inner and outer worlds of being. Within the dream state she works to shift her dream to a vision of love, and in doing so succeeds in shifting the universal dream as well.

Entelechy, meaning fulfilling one’s potential in Greek, is Delawari’s second full length album. Entelechy I was produced by Butchy Fuego (a.k.a. Electronic artist San Gabriel) and Entelechy II is the same collection of tracks presented as acoustic and unproduced featuring Salar Nader - a fellow Afghan-American and a famed virtuoso of the tabla. The idea of fulfillment permeates throughout and is represented by her voice - a golden mean between Joan Baez’s warm soprano and Kate Bush’s intoxicating, otherworldly vocals.

An artist of prismatic creativity, Delawari boasts an impressive resume. Her psych-folk musical creations earned her a fan and collaborator in director David Lynch. She is an award winning filmmaker for her feature length documentary about the making of her first album in Afghanistan and her family story called We Came Home that was just acquired for distribution. And, she is an activist whose life’s passion culminated in a TED talk. Now she is taking another step forward with ENTELECHY.

1. Heartbreak / Love Waits
2. This Love
3. Here Is My Love
4. Our Love Is Strong
5. In The Snow
6. I See The Hope In You
7. The Warrior
8. African Lightning Fire
9. The Wonderment
10. Sekander Of Rio
11. Your Dream Is My Dream