MARK STOERMER To Release New Album "Dark Arts" - Out 8/5

MARK STOERMER To Release New Album
Dark Arts
Dark Arts out August 5th
 Album art

Mark Stoermer, bassist of The Killers, will digitally release his second solo album Dark Arts on August 5th on his own record label St. August Records. PRESS HERE to watch the music video for lead single "Spare the Ones That Weep," which premiered today on NME. Dark Arts is available to preorder now along with a re-issue of Stoermer's first solo album, 2011's Another Life - PRESS HERE to pre-order.
"Spare The Ones that Weep" tiptoes between a glitched-out shuffle with resounding organ and Stoermer's vulnerable vocals, carrying the titular line gleefully lifted right from Jean-Luc Godard's sci-fi noir classic Alphaville. "The lyrics take on multiple levels," Stoermer explains. "There's a fantasy element. It's a daydream from someone watching the film who wants to be inside of it."
Dark Arts' 13 songs comprise a mosaic of sixties-induced psychedelia, bluesy desert rock swagger, plaintive lyrical poetry, and lithe and lush cinematic orchestration. The album builds on the foundation of Another Life, while expanding the sound beyond that record's folk-tinged roots. Co-produced by David Hopkins of Bombay Heavy and recorded at The Killers' Las Vegas headquarters Battle Born Studios and Studio at The PalmsDark Arts weaves together a twisting and turning trip through a myriad of styles.
Since the release of Another Life, Stoermer has not only released 2012's Battle Born with The Killers, but he performed alongside Dhani Harrison on Conan for "George Harrison Week" in 2014. He went on to handle bass duties for The Smashing Pumpkins and performed around the globe on their Monuments to an Elegy Tour.
Dark Arts track list:
1. Alchemical Formula
2. Drifting Caterpillar
3. Spare The Ones That Weep
4. 39 Steps
5. Avarice/What's Coming
6. The Break In
7. Take My Time
8. Blood and Guts (The Anatomy Lesson)
9. Tow The Line
10. Are Your Stars Out?
11. Fingerspitzengefühl
12. What Was In-Between
13. Pretend Song