Blood Orange's new album is OUT NOW!


Photo credit: Michael Lavine
""Freetown Sound" is a wondrous tapestry of eighties dance and R. & B., shot through with questions about migration, Christianity, and black masculinity." - THE NEW YORKER
"It can seem that there's not an inch of New York - not a block, not a scene, not a cultural ecosystem - where Mr. Hynes, the 30-year-old singer-songwriter-producer, hasn't left a footprint."
Blood Orange's highly anticipated new album, Freetown Sound, is out now.
Written and produced by Hynes, and featuring musical contributions from Nelly Furtado, Carly Rae Jepsen, BEA1991, Debbie Harry, Adam Bainbridge (a.k.a. Kindness), Empress Of, Ian Isiah, Kelsey Lu, Jason Arce, Ava Raiin, Aaron Maine (a.k.a. Porches), Bryndon Cook (a.k.a. Starchild) and Patrick Wimberly, Freetown Sound is a tour de force, a confluence of Hynes' past, present, and future that melds his influences with his own established musical voice.
"A committed cultural citizen, he stands out among the New York musicians of his generation. Mr. Hynes's modern bohemianism feels like a holdover from an earlier time, more reminiscent of the uptown-downtown cross-pollination of the early 1980s, or how Lou Reed bridged proto-punk and art, or how Warhol's Factory took in the outcasts from all the city's scenes and gave them a home.
His cultural life is broad and fluid, a throwback to when New York culture was less professionalized, more intimate and less segmented. "Freetown Sound" suggests a conversation with the city, navigating a host of styles while weaving in vocal snippets of local characters, from KRS-One to Ta-Nehisi Coates." - NEW YORK TIMES

Still from 'Augustine' video
Stream Freetown Sound HERE.
Download Freetown Sound via iTunes or Google Play HERE.
Head here to pre-order the deluxe edition LP available exclusively through the Domino Mart. The deluxe contains the album on double LP housed in a wide spine jacket, and a bonus 10" with two additional non-album tracks "Do You See My Skin Through The Flames" and "Sandra's Smile," as well as a double sided 24x36 poster. The CD and LP are available August 19th.
Freetown Sound Tracklisting
01.  By Ourselves
02.  Augustine
03.  Chance
04.  Best To You
05.  With Him
06.  E.V.P.
07.  Love Ya
08.  But You
09.  Desirée
10.  Hands Up
11.  Hadron Collider
12.  Squash Squash
13.  Juicy 1-4
14.  Better Than Me
15.  Thank You
16.  I Know
17.  Better Numb
Blood Orange is playing the following shows this summer in support of Freetown Sound. More shows will be announced soon.

Blood Orange 2016 Tour Dates
Thurs June 30 || Roskilde || Copenhagen, DE
Sat July 2 || Hyde Park || London, UK
Tues July 5 || Koko || London, UK
Thurs July 7 || Festival Moderno, Circolo Magnolia || Milan, IT
Sat July 9 || Ruisrock || Turku, FI
Sat July 16 || Pitchfork Music Festival, Union Park || Chicago, IL
Sat July 23 || Panorama Festival, Randall Island || New York, NY
Sat Aug 27 || Greek Theater ||| Berkeley, CA
Sun Aug 28 || FYF || Los Angeles, CA